Twinkle Twinkle Little Star. Implementation

Implementation »

There were so many sentences in this that could be interpreted in the card.
In the song it seems as there is a deep connection with the star. I thought a single house represented this as it stripped away anything in the way of this connection

There are so many references to

Up above the world so high Like a diamond in the sky

so I knew the star had to be a key feature of the design. The diamond alluding to its intensity

It also seems quite comtemplative

How I wonder what you are

One of my ideas was to represent to the house (3) on a piece of screwed up paper. As if the person holds the star in such high regard, their is existence is trivial in comparison, and the star shines its light onto this paper

Another good way of representing this contemplative connection could be in using a handwriting or typewriter font.

I discarded (2) with the beam of light coming straight down because it seem to sci-fi, too alien abduction like.

But the general idea what so strong in my mind my concern was the composition was too simple ,I really couldnt of any other elments to add. I didnt think It warranted any.


The resources for this were really simple. just these two in the end although I went through many combinations to get to these.

I used color-range to remove the sky. I left artefacts around the tree, but this only helped in giving the tree more dimension.

I really didn’t want to use the photo as is there is so much detail in photograph than a star, it would detract from it. I definitely wanted An illustrative option

I worked my way though ( all of!) the filters until I came up close to what I wanted.

I thought about drawing but my skills are sub par wouldnt have looked good. Fortunately the graphic pen gave me a result close to what I had in mind


The picture of the sky was ideal, fitting in with the lyrics

In the dark blue sky

When I placed it in situ I realised the quality wasn’t that great. Not good enough for the cover. Hunting round I couldn’t find another that was as appropriate.

I tried varied textures through (non destructive filters) and layer styles, and eventually settled on


This work well for two reasons. Firstly I hid the poor quality of the image. Secondly it gave form to the design. Now it seem more tactile, not so flat.

Also added a gradient overlay and a lens flare to draw emphasis to where the star would be in my composition

At this point I thought ‘How bare this is !.

The wasn’t much to this design. The illustration was floating inn the middle of nowhere. I needed some way to ground the house.

I borrowed from my early paper idea (3) but implemented it in totally different way. Using a layer mask, and several different brushes I ate away (non destructively ) at the design creating to torn paper effect.


Setting the blend mode to screen dropped out the black so against white background

The main benefits were It really grounded the house making the bottom seem like the earth under the house. In actual fact in the photograph its water but whos to know !!

Secondly it created an unobtrusive area for the area for the text

Thirdly it used up a quarter of the canvas. Result ! not so bare anymore.

Initially it was almost half the canvas but I just increased the size of the illustration and moved everything down. Although I was careful not to make the house so large that it would take emphasis away from the star. After all the song is about star.

Final touches, paint in the star.
Just used a regular brushes created a 10 pix dot. In brush dynamics changed the mode to fade to fade to create the cross beam light effect.


Used american typewriter font for text, according to my early thoughts.

Final Work

Leave a Reply

